Aftermath Pictures From Ketsana

I’ve been following stories of Ketsana for weeks and I still haven’t find confirmed number of deaths or missing.  Although, I finally found some pictures of the flood that devastated Southern part of Laos.

My heart goes out to all those people in the South.  I hope that the Laos Governments are there helping those folks to rebuild their lives.  Most of these folks lost everything.

Here are pictures from the devastated flood from flickr, by lao flooded 2009.

flood

flood1

flood2

flood3

flood4

flood5

6 thoughts on “Aftermath Pictures From Ketsana

  1. Nye

    I don’t know if you’ll ever get a confirm number of death. 😦 So sad to see those houses half submerged in water and destroyed.

    My brother inlaw’s family is in Attapeu and they lost all their buffaloes in the flood, I think a lot of damages in the house also.

    Reply
  2. seeharhed Post author

    Nye, It is sad and how long it will take those folks rebuild. As you could on all those pictures, 90% of land got flooded.

    I feel for those folks and I do hope they get some help… Let’s hope that Laos government aren’t just focus their energy on upcoming SEA Games and leave those folks on back burner.

    Just like famous saying in lao… “touk tor dai hang xum”

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      So many people lost everything.. it will be years before their lives become normal again.

      Yes, the world police did pitched in. It was reported by VOA that U.S. embassy in Vientiane, provided $50,000 as a primary relief aid to these victims via the International Red Cross. Let’s hope all those $50K goes straight to all those folks.

      Reply
  3. Jeffrey

    I was very sad to hear about this and of course, very worried about Aon and the boys and her family. They live about 90 minutes south of Savannakhet, so they were okay.

    We are planning to head down to Wat Phou again as well as some other place in the vicinity that is famous for river dolphins. We were at Wat Phou in 2007 and it was breathtaking–though very hot to climb to the top.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Jeffrey, I’m glad to hear that your wife and the kids are safe from the flood.

      Savanhnakhet is the furthest south I’ve ever been to, I like to visit Pakse on my next trip back to Laos. I hope to make it back around mid March to the end of April of 2010.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

