Out At The Farm

This year weather in Northern Cali has been relatively mild compare to all previous November.  First Saturday in a long time where I didn’t wake up with a hangover or places I have to be.  I decided to take a nice drive out to my buddy farm.  He had told me couple weeks ago that the persimmons will be ready to pick soon.

He used to have 4 or 5 trees, but now just 2 remain.  His dad planted these trees about 50 something years ago.

persimmon trees

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I only filled up the 2 buckets I have with me.  Gave one whole bucket to my parents, they both love eating it.  Probably ending up give other half bucket to my brother.

picking persimmon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I just hand picked the biggest and nicest one:-).

picking persimmon1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pretty soon the birds will be all over it.  I notices few fruit already been picked by birds.

picking persimmon2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All these pictures was taken by my cell phone camera.

9 thoughts on “Out At The Farm

    1. Nye

      My local temple in Greensboro have over over 200 trees, and I purchased one small tree from them. I’ve been moving it twice, so that sort of stunts the growth, so hopefully it won’t die on me.

      I hope mine would grow as big as your friend’s trees, although I don’t have much room for it. 🙂

      Reply
      1. seeharhed Post author

        Hi Nye, wow!!! over 200 trees?? They might have to hire people to pick all those fruits. I wonder if they sell it to local asian stores?

        Awww… poor tree, you changed locations twice? LOL Hopefully, it will be okay after all.

  1. Cambree

    Hi seehardhed,
    You are so lucky to go persimmon picking!

    I’ve been wanting to visit Otow Family Farm (near Sacramento) for persimmon and other autumn fruits too.

    Your photos inspired me to just get up early one of these weekends and make a day trip out of it. 🙂

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Hi Cambree, Thanks for stopping by. The weather was nice last weekend, plus I didn’t have anything plan so I took a drive out to the farm. I might go back to pick some more at the end of the month. My sister-in-law likes to make cookies out of them, I’ll give her few buckets.

      You should make the day trip out of it. I can’t believe how nice the weather and unusually warm for this time of the year.

      Reply
  2. salalao

    You know my mother aunt son has persimmons farm in Northern California not too far from San Franciso, I don’t know his name but he use his surname Sananikone when I was out their around this time, she gave me a big box of fresh pick persimmons to bring home for my parents. I have tasted the persimmon but somehow is doesn’t taste right I think you have to acquire the taste for it.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      sabaidee salalao, thanks for stopping by. Hhmm I don’t know anyone with a surname of Sananikone. Although I heard of Sananikone before, it is a well known last name in Laos. I think they are pretty big in Hawaii. They owned that famous Thai/Lao Restaurant “Keo”.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

