Happy Thanksgiving Everyone..

As a laotian kid growing up I didn’t really know the true history or meaning of Thanksgiving holiday.  Just those stuffs they taught you in grade school about the indians and white folks.  All I know was days off from school, playing football on the streets with bunch of my cousins and neighborhood kids.  I don’t think my mom ever cook the turkey during Thanksgiving time.  But, she would cook lots of traditional lao dishes and our relatives would be over all day long.  In the past few years the gathering got smaller and mainly just family only.  This year will be at my brother’s place and I think he will deep fried his turkey.  I’m looking forward to spending time with families, eating, drinking and of course watching 3 football games.  I should weight myself tomorrow morning and weight myself again after the weekend.  Probably gain about 8 or 10 lbs hahhahahha..

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!!!

Here are some of the pictures I took earlier today..    So much foods for 10 adults and 3 kids.

ready for the bird..

meet our 15 lbs turkey.. my brother marinated it over night.

the bird is going in for a dip.. it took about an hour to cook 15 lbs bird

little princess is keeping herself busy.. trying to start her lawn mower

she loves to be around grandpa... i sneak up on them two..

there are few dishes missing.. 2 type of turkey, one deep fried and second one cook in the oven.

5 different kind of dessert... i was so full and never got to the dessert

lunch time... little princess loves stickyrice.. lao will always be lao:)

18 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving Everyone..

    1. seeharhed Post author

      salalao – It is always nice to be around family. I am so lucky that all my family live close by and always nice to be around them.

      Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family as well.

      Reply
      1. salalao

        Seeharhed
        According the “good eat” guy newspaper and cardboard box is not kosher catching oil splash for deep fried turkey and I also noticed NO fire extingusher.
        Anyway it looks like everything turns out great. OMG, I even get a chance to see your little princess again, she is adorable and by the way my nephew loves sticky rice too :0)

  1. Nye

    I think we’re like the white folks, but just came way later than them, so many things to be thankful for. Sounds like you’ve a good Thanksgiving.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Nye, I am so thankful to be surrounded with the loving family. As I’m getting older I appreciated these gathering more and more. Hope you and your family had a great Thanksgiving also.

      Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Dallas – Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.

      Yes!!!! Thank you Cowboys for showing up today. I saw about 3 quarters of the game and thanks to Miles Austine for contribute points for my fantasy football league. Miles had a great game, I hate the DAMN Raiders so bad. They always get blackout around here.

      Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      eerenoon – Sabaidee.. yep!!! always got to have some stickyrice on the table. The little one loves stickyrice, as you can see she is stuffing it down. lol

      Reply
  2. cambree

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Wow, 1 hr to deep fry the turkey. Hope someone ws keeping watch of it. That fryer intimidates me. 😉

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      cambree – Happy Thanksgiving to you too.

      Yes, it only took an hour to cook the 15 lbs turkey. My brother and I just stood around drinking beers and keeping an eyes on the pot plus the thermometer. It was good time for brothers to catch up on current events. LOL

      I think the fryer intimidate a lot of folks and every year people will burn down their houses trying to fry the turkey. Most common mistake is the turkey hasn’t thaw real well and oil will be splashing like crazy. That’s the main cause of fire. When my brother drop the turkey in the pot, the oil barely splash.

      Reply
  3. Jeffrey

    Happy (belated) Thanksgiving! The photos of the food are awesome.

    As for me, I am down to 23 more days until I fly to Laos. You can only imagine how excited I am knowing that I will soon be with Aon and Jeremy Aaron and Bia.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Jeffrey – Thanks and Happy Holidays to you as well.

      I bet you’re counting the number of days before you’ll get to be your wife and kids. Have a safe trip back to Laos. I miss Laos and over due to get back.

      Reply
  4. Nye

    seeharhed, the deep fryer does look scary and 15 hours to cook, that’s something else, but I bet it’s good. The little princess looks adorable and I can see the remembrance between you and your dad. 🙂

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Nye – I know it does looks intimidate but it is not all that bad. My brother had fried his turkey so many times so he knows his stuffs. 15 hours? No, it only took about an hour for 15 lbs turkey. It is quick compare to your traditional cooking in the oven.

      What you meant the resemblance between me and my dad? I didn’t know you saw my picture before. hahahahhaha

      Reply
      1. Nye

        Hehehe, I missed read that, 15 hours I couldn’t imagine. I saw bit and pieces of your photos and can tell by looking, I’m very observant you know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

