Curry Anyone???

It is been awhile  since I last blog about my cooking.  My style of cooking requires no measuring cups, spoons or scale.  I called it caveman style of cooking, just keep adding things to it as you go. LOL

Today, I decide to cook me up some yellow curry.  I thought it would be a good meal with this cold weather.

I used the whole package..

I chopped them up in 1/4 and took most of the seeds out.

I'm sure most of you know the trick... After you cut them egg plants up, make sure you add some salt into the water... so the egg plants doesnt turn black

I used some of fingerling potatoes... It cooks a lot faster and tasty

This is the first time I decide to add some bamboo shoots... is ok..

this is the curry paste I've used..

chaokoh it is.... never try other brand

most of the time.. i used chicken, but this time is pork.. the meat been marinated over night.

throw the meat in the pot... let it cook

this particular pot... i used 2 cans of the coconut milk..

finally.. i get to eat... what you guys think??? looks ok??

Here it is… The caveman yellow curry..

18 thoughts on “Curry Anyone???

    1. seeharhed Post author

      Dallas – Oh yea I did… It was late last night and I didn’t list all the ingredients. I put very little salt, little sugar and fish sauce. The only item missing was a basil.

      Reply
  1. mscinda

    Yummy! Looks delicious, I love eggplant in curry. I love curry and it’s perfect for this time of year. I just cooked curry chicken yesterday. I did the same as you, adding whatever I had around the pantry and fridge. I used the Maesri red curry paste and same coconut milk. I used left over chicken pieces that I marinated with the curry paste, salt and sugar. I cooked minced ginger, lemongrass, kaffir lime leaves, shallots then added the chicken to brown. Then I added a can of chicken stock, enough to cover the chicken and let it simmer with the lid on. Towards the end of the cooking process I added a little fish sauce, coconut milk, cilantro, and a can of drained green beans. My curry had a hint of sweet and was not too spicy.

    Reply
  2. Nye

    seeharhed, looks real yummy. I knew the trick about soaking eggplants in salt water, but I don’t remove the seeds. I put Kapee in mine, I must be the only one that put Kapee in almost everything. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Dallas

      I found Nye’s weakness. 😈
      I will go to her house and remove all the kapee and she can never cook again. I found similar weakness with Mrs Dallas too. I hid all the bottles of black pepper.

      Reply
      1. seeharhed Post author

        ahhahahah I’ve seen the show with Andrew Zimmern on Travel Channel when he was in Thailand, he visited this kapee town. After seeing the process of making kapee, I dont know if you want to eat it anymore. hahahahha

  3. seeharhed Post author

    Nye – Thanks, I guess it wasn’t too bad for caveman cooking.:-). As far as I can remember, I never like the seeds of eggplant. Oh!!!! I never put kapee on mine curry and I don’t think my mom does either.

    Reply
    1. Nye

      seeharhed, my mom was Thai and they use Kapee in their cooking and I think that’s where I got it from. As for this curry dish, I also use NomPa for flavor.

      I like Thai/Lao eggplant and put that in my Tum Buk Houng also.

      Reply
      1. seeharhed Post author

        Nye – I use very little NamPa on my cooking due to the smell. It can linger for awhile:-). My mom always put the asian eggplant on her tum mark hoong as well.

  4. Cambree

    Am I late for this party? JK.

    I was just hoping to make curry for dinner later this week too. I like yellow curry best, especially with eggplants and potatoes. Yum.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      hahahhahahha asian spoon… I do not own any asian spoon, I have to go see my parents to use asian spoons. Although, I do have bunch of chopsticks :-).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

