Kaow Tome

Last night I drop by to give mom/dad some of oranges I bought from Costco earlier on the day.  Mom was busy finishing wrapping up the last few “kaow tome” and had some already cooked.  She knows I love “kaow tome” and make sure I take some home.  I had two last night when it was still hot, hhmmm so yummy:-).  Also had one for breakfast this morning with my coffee.  Nothing is like mom cooking and I’m sure everyone of us can attest to that.

here it is... i can easily put down a dozen..

13 thoughts on “Kaow Tome

    1. seeharhed Post author

      I didn’t do a good job of describing this kaow tome. Actually, this one does have thin strip of pork similar to a bacon strip and yellow mung bean in it :-). I am down to my last one and I had one with my coffee earlier.

      The kind of kaow tome you didn’t like is probably have some coconut or banana inside of it.

      Reply
      1. Cambree

        These are some of my favorite too. My mom only makes them a few times a year. Usually around Buddhist celebration.

        The ones with pork and mung beans are also popular during Chinese New Year. People make them and share with all their friends and neighbors.

  1. Victor

    Is this similar to the Chinese triangular banana wrapped glutinous sticky rice with either meat, red beans in it? We call it “Bah Chang”.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Victor – It is the same one you just described except mom used yellow beans. Grandpa(Arh Ghong) loves this particular one and mom always make it around Chinese New Year.

      Reply
  2. Nye

    I love Kao Tome and helped made some in TN over 10 years ago, mine didn’t come out as pretty. I think I want to try making it again, you could keep it in the freezer for a couple of months, and just take it out to microwave, great for breakfast with coffee.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Nye – My sister tried to learn how to wrap Kao Tome many times and never comes out like the one mom did. Mom got the techniques of wrapping down and air tight. After boiling it in the water for an hour her Kao Tome comes out nice and dry.

      Reply
  3. salalao

    Does your have banna with coccnut milk? I loved them I could have half dozen just for breakfast.
    My mom just made a whole bunch with pork and mung bean for the new year, it good when you fried them to golden brown, very crunchy.

    Reply
  4. lady0fdarkness

    Yeah, I don’t like the ones with banana or coconut. There’s also this other one I like that is triangular shape. I don’t know what it’s called, but it has a really rich taste.

    Don’t know if you ever tried this, but my Mom makes “Kanome Guah.” It’s like starchy kao tome with some pork. you eat it with jaew wun.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      ladyofdarkness – I know that triangular shape kaow tome but for the common name for it. I’m not too crazy about it because is super sweet and super sticky:-).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

