Happy Belated Lao New Year 2010

First of all, I like to say “Soke Dee Pee Mai” which simply meant “Happy New Year”.  I have so many stories to tell and I don’t even know where to begin.  As many of you might know that this is not my first trip back to visit Laos.  Out of all my trips back to Laos, I never feel this sad about leaving the country.  I miss my grandparents, relatives and friends.  Five weeks flew by so quick and I wasn’t ready to come back.  I wanted to extend my vacation for 2 more weeks.  Although I’ve been back for almost a week and I still haven’t yet adjust it back to the U.S. time zone.  It is driving me crazy cause I am up all night and sleeping all day.

Here are some of pictures.

another sign about new year sponsors by Tigo and Namkhong Beer

view from 3rd floor of my guesthouse.. even is early in the morning, people are making their runs from temple to temple.

last day of the festival.. they didn't stop til 9pm.

this guy took his whole klan out.. hahhahah

even though she is getting splash with water from left and right... yet, she still manage to pose hahahha

i tried to count to see how many people were on this golf cart.. after 12 i lost count. lol

10 thoughts on “Happy Belated Lao New Year 2010

  1. Jeffrey Miller

    Wow! I know the location of that Guest House and where you are at!

    How have you been? It’s been awhile and I hope all is well with you.

    Look forward to hearing all about your trip!

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Jeffrey – I’m doing okay and back to the U.S. safely. Time flew by so quick on this trip and I didn’t want to come back at all. I was emotional wrecked on the last day there and was so sad that I have to leave.. Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply
  2. Nye

    seeharhed, great photos, especially the last one. 🙂

    It sounds like you had a great time. I didn’t have time to adjust like you, I was back at work right away. My trip was too short also, I would love to live in Laos for 6 months, but then I would miss my family in the US. 😦

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Nye – Thanks!! I had a blast:-) I ate well.. If anything I think I probably gained some weight on this trip. hahahha I didn’t really have a problem at all other than the heat wave. Even the locals are complaining about how hot it is.

      More photos and stories coming soon…

      Reply
  3. Victor

    Welcome back, See! I meant back to the blogging world! 🙂 and, US of course. Even though you probably call Laos home again after spending 5 weeks there. Mate, I am sure you will adjust back to your US life. Look forward to read more of your experience back in Laos. Victor

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Victor – Thanks for the warm welcoming back. I’ve been back to the U.S. soil for almost a week and I still having problem adjusting back to the daily routines. I found myself missing Laos and constantly thinking about the people back there:-).

      Today is my first day back to work.. back to the reality. So, stay tune for more stories about Laos coming soon.

      Reply
  4. Cambree

    Welcome back! Glad to hear you had a good time and fond memories from your trip.

    Home is where your heart is… and it seem like maybe you have left your heart in Laos. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

