Road Trip To Southern Region Of Laos

Hhhmmm..  It is been about 3 weeks since I got back from Laos and I’m still not my normal self yet.  I have so much stories and pictures to share, but I just can’t focus on writing anything.  So, please bare with me if I don’t make any sense at all.

My main goal for this trip is to see as many places as I can.  The first week of my trip was spend with families and friends.  One of my buddy from North Carolina followed me to Laos a week after I got there.  He was born in small village about an hour and half south of Pakse, near the Thailand border.  His parents separated when he was very young and saw his dad for the first time about 4 years ago for 2 hours.  So, he wants to spend part of the trip with his half brothers and sisters.  For some of his brothers and sisters is the first time meeting each other, as anyone could imagine the thrill and tears of joy seeing each other for first time.

Our journey to the Southern part of Laos begin so early that I didn’t remember much.  I remember getting in the van and went straight back to sleep.

at the middle of Pak Ka Ding Bridge.. my cousin is offering to the god of river for permission to pass and safe journey..

it is normal to see people pray at the end of bridge.. since there's no traffic, we decide to stop in the middle of the bridge:)

this is where we stayed the first night in Pakse... The Champa Grand Hotel

I've notices most of the guests are Thai tourist that are staying here.. the breakfast brunch is pretty good.

the sunset on MeKong River.. this is the view of my room from 7th floor.

picture was taken from the courtyard of Champa Grand Hotel.. Laos-Nippon Bridge crossing MeKong River

City of Pakse.. in the middle of the picture is Pakse Market

the sign from the main highway.. Khon Pa Pheng Waterfall

this is it..... khon pa pheng waterfall.. all those hours in the car to see this fall.. hahah

i thought about walking down to the bottom and take some pictures.. but i was too tired!!

the ferry station to Don Khong and Don Det Islands..

my buddy had to take one of these ferry boats cross the MeKong River to Don Khong

it is a beautiful place.. so calm.. the locals are taking the bath right on the river..

i feel bad.. i wanted to take the picture but at same time.. i feel like i'm invading their spaces.

i really like this shot.. so peaceful

the fishermen are heading home with their catches of the day.

the second night in Pakse, we stayed here at Arawun Riverside Hotel

another view of the hotel.. i didn't care for this place, much prefer Champa Grand

14 thoughts on “Road Trip To Southern Region Of Laos

  1. Victor

    Ha ha…the micro Niagara Fall!

    Btw, See – no worry about taking time off to put new post. I do burnout some time from blogging. I am sure there are others like us.

    Oh, what is that new image on your blog? Is it a dam?

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Victor – Yes!! super micro Niagara Falls hahhahah.. The day we visited Khon Pa Pheng Waterfalls happened to be one of hottest day in the South. I just want to see the falls, take pictures and leave because my foot was in so much pain. The night before I was out for few drinks and had a minor accident that required about 4 stitches.

      Yes!! that new image on my blog header is probably a biggest dam in Laos. It was build back in the early 70’s and dad used to work there. I still vividly remembered one of the field trip dad took us there.

      Reply
  2. Nye

    seeharhed, love your photos, especially the ferry boats cross the MeKong River to Don Khong, great framing. The Khon Pa Pheng Waterfall is beautify, I didn’t get to visit on my last trip.

    I think the best way to cure the feeling of missing Laos is by posting and talking more about it. 🙂 We stayed at the Champa hotel, and nothing comparing to the Champa Grand Hotel. But the room is modest and the price is reasonable.

    I heard that the Mekong river is at her lowest this time of the year. Did you notice that at all?

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Nye – Thanks!!! The pictures I took at this ferry boat crossing are some of my favorites. I really wish I have time to spend few nights in Don Khong. My buddy told me the island is so pretty and very quite. His brother happen to own one of a guesthouse in that island.

      I’m not sure by posting more about Laos will help cure the feelings of missing Laos. The more I see look at all those pictures I took, the more I want to be back in Laos.

      Yes, I totally agree about Champa Grand Hotel and all the places I stayed doesn’t compare to it.

      The MeKong River is really low and lowest I’ve ever seen in my life time. I took bunch of pictures of the river and will write a blog about it.

      Reply
      1. Nye

        The monk at the Temple was talking about it 2 Sundays ago, he said you see more of See Pun Don (4 thousand island) and was worried where Prayanark would live. I was amused but he wasn’t being funny. 🙂 I worried about the people that rely on the Mekong river, after all it’s a vital artery that sustains the livelihood of the people.

        I see you didn’t fall for the “posting more” part. 🙂

  3. Jeffrey

    Great photo story and you’re right about that one photo–of the river so peaceful. Of the two hotels you stayed at, which one would your recommend the most? Aon and I are thinking about coming here with the boys in August–either Pakse or Luang Prabang, though I think the north would be much cooler. We to Wat Phu in July 2007 and it was soooo hot there.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Jeffrey – I would definitely recommend Champa Grand Hotel with a nice swimming pool and really good breakfast. It was brutally hot when I was in Pakse. I’m sure you will find Luangprabang a little cooler. I never made it to see Wat Phu.

      Reply
  4. Kim

    Seeharhed:

    Thanks for the pictures in Southern Laos. I heard that Southern Laos is beautiful and I hope to see it someday.

    Is the image of your blog header with a sign ສາທາລະນະລັດ ປະຊາທິປະໄຕ ປະຊາຊົນລາວ (Lao People’s Democratic Republic) Nam Ngeum dam?

    It looked like the one I saw in the mid-70 which was the first hydro dam in Laos.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Kim – You’re welcome and thanks for stopping by. Yes, the Southern part of Laos are beautiful and lots to see. There are so many places to see and I only got to see few places. It was hot!!!!

      Yes, the picture on my blog header is a sign at Nam Ngeum Dam, the first hydro dam in Laos. It is the same one you saw back in the 70’s when they were built.

      Reply
  5. EereNoon

    Did you watch Sabai Dee 2 : Mai Mee Kam Tob Jak Pakse???

    Is that the restaurant where Ray received 200000kip from the groom in the last photo?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

