Vung Vieng

We decided to do a one day road trip up to Vung Vieng, since my buddy from North Carolina has never seen the town.  Personally, I really don’t care for Vung Vieng although the landscape surrounding the town is stunning.  This will be the second visit for me and first for most of my cousins.  The main reason I didn’t really care for the town cause of all those obnoxious backpackers.  They are turning this little tiny town into the mega pot/opium  smoking city in South East Asia.  It is got out of hands for the past few years.

Although I tried to avoid the popular backpackers hangout spot.  There aren’t much tourist spots in town beside all the bars along the river.  I think we spend total about 4 hours in Vung Vieng and pretty much covered the town.

this is the main strip of Vung Vieng.. looking toward the south of town.

the famous coconut tree.. i never seen anything like this before..

i love the sign in Laos.. hahahha always homemade sign

lao version of golden gate brigde.. 🙂

another view of lao golden gate bridge..

when i was in the middle of this bridge.. i grab the handrail and begin to shake it for few minutes and almost gave my cousins heart attack. hahahah

there's a cave in that mountain.. if you notices the two structures almost half way of the mountain. we are going to hike up there

stairways up to the cave.."Thum Jung"

my cousin and I counted each step as we climbed this stairwell.

as soon we both got to the top.. we both yelled out loud.. 147!! my other cousin was like.. duhhhh.. why bother to count? someone wrote it right there and we both burst out laughing..

must obey the rules..

only our group was in the cave that morning... it was some what creepy at time.. the cave itself was cool comparing to the outside temperature..

it was not fun going down those stairs.. i don't know who constructed this stairways.. the various heights of each steps made it hard to walk down.. there are few times i had to grab on the rail

as you can see.. there are bars after bars.. infamous location for soaking up the sun and smoking pot

one of the popular slide.. the water level was so low.. it was dead there

no customers..

that is my cousin in the middle of the river... i'm not sure what is she looking for

nice landscape... but too many bars..

i saw this gal playing with her brother from distance.. i couldn't resist:-)

this sign is right next to the new bridge.. got it???? hahahha

same bridge... but home made version of sign.. hahaha there are fee for crossing this bridge.. i forgot the cost..

no charge for crossing this bridge.. although he like you to spend some $$ at his restaurant

13 thoughts on “Vung Vieng

  1. Jeffrey

    Great pictorial spread/journey. I have also heard the same thing how Vang Vieng has started to attract the wrong kind of tourist. After these backpackers have had their fill of Thailand and Cambodia it’s onto Laos. Personally, I just ignore them; what I don’t like is how arrogant and ethnocentric they are when it comes to interacting with the locals. It’s that kind of interaction which makes people jaded so when more tourists come. I’ve noticed the last few times I’ve been in Vientiane how some of the shopkeepers are not as friendly as they were when I first when to Vientiane. I really get annoyed when I hear a foreigner talking loudly and obnoxiously in public thinking that Laos do not understand.

    When Aon and I went to Louang Prabang in 2008, there were some Swiss and Canadian backpackers on the bus complaining how bad Laos was. Aon felt so embarrassed.

    You can read the blog post here:

    http://jeffreyalanmiller.wordpress.com/2008/02/23/how-aon-and-i-infuriated-two-swiss-tourists-on-the-bus-from-luang-prabang-to-vientiane/

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Jeffrey – Well said.. You’re so right, the locals will soon just tune out the tourists. The government doesn’t seem to enforce any law there and it will get out of hand. It is got to the point you can order your choice of drugs off the menu at restaurants.

      Thanks for the link, I’ll read it soon.

      Reply
  2. Nye

    You spent more time than us, we probably did 2 hours max, and we also visited Tum Jung. When I crossed the red bridge, I thought the same thing, looks very much like the SF Golden Gate bridge. I actually wanted to spend the night there and visit a local farm the next day but we didn’t have enough time.

    I didn’t count the steps, but the ticket booth lady told me there were 174 steps, and you counted 147, I guess she was wrong. The Laogrish is too funny. 🙂

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Nye – That’s one thing that I didn’t get to do is visit the organic tea farm. It was hot and we saw enough of Vung Vieng. On our way back we stop at Ta Lard and had dinner at Ta Ghon. I have to blog about that part of trip later.

      Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Dallas – I took those pictures around noon. Most of them are probably getting out of bed. I ran into bunch of backpackers gathering in the middle of town.

      Reply
  3. Kim

    Seeharhed:

    I really like your posting about Laos.

    The more I look at your posting along with Nye’s posting, the more I realize how much I missed Laos.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Kim – Maybe it is your calling… time to go back for a visit before more and more tourists knows about Laos. While its still maintain that charms. I still have few places in Laos that I haven’t yet seen and I like to visit those area soon.

      Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      ladyofdarkness – the surrounding landscape of Vung Vieng is so breath taking and no where like it in Laos. Unfortunately, it is the backpackers heaven to come get high.

      Reply
  4. EereNoon

    Never been to Vang Vieng before but I bet its a bit similar to Pai in Thailand. Pai, a small hill town now full with bagpackers as well… = l

    Reply

Leave a Reply

