How Do People Deal With The Lost of Love One?

I’ve been dealing with this issue for the past couple weeks now.  First, it was the state of shock and disbelieve.  All the thoughts flowing out of no where and the feeling of guilt.  I blame myself for not reaching out as often.  People often said sometime it takes death to bring everyone together.

It is been tough trying to get back to daily life and trying to move on.  I often find myself sitting there thinking about that person, the time we shared and all those memories.

14 thoughts on “How Do People Deal With The Lost of Love One?

  1. Jeffrey

    Sorry to hear about your loss, Seeharhed.

    Everyone deals with the loss of a loved one, a friend in different ways. There is no proper way or a book we can read to tell us how to mourn. We mourn in whatever way works best for us. Dealing with guilt and thinking about all the things we should have or shouldn’t have done is part of mourning and perhaps, the soul searching that we need to to do heal. We feel bad because we are dealing with an emptiness in our lives and the fact that this person is no longer going to be with us. Perhaps, the guilt is part of our defense mechanism, a part of the mourning process.

    Writing about something that helps you to remember that person can he comforting, not to mention cathartic–part of the healing process.

    I hope and pray for you to get through this loss of this person in your life as best you can.

    Please take care my friend.

    Reply
  2. Nye

    Hi seeharhed, sorry to hear about your loss. I started my blog when my mom was ill (almost 4 years ago) and after she passed away I spend a lot of time blogging. I think it takes the lost of a loved one to really appreciate life and living. I know I view things differently now and try to spend more time with my dad.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Nye – Thank You.. You’re so right that most people probably appreciate life more after the lost of love one. In his case, it was sudden death that took everyone by surprise. We were suppose to meet in Laos back in April of this year. During that time, most of the Airports in Europe were shut down due to the volcano ashes. By the time he was able to confirm a flight, I had already left Laos. Since I got back from Laos, we talked few times. It is just like a bad dream, except this one is real.

      Reply
  3. Victor

    Sorry to hear about your loss, Seeharhed. It’s never easy to loose someone you care and love. We all go through this emotion.

    My dad passed away suddenly 3 yrs ago. I received the call from home on a Christmas night. That was hard, but it didn’t hit me until I hung up the phone and after I have managed to get the earliest flight out of Australia to go back to Penang. It took me a long time to recover from the loss. But, we will rise up again and continue with our life. You will as well. I am certain about that. The best thing to do is to do things, hang out with people that you like, get to know new friends, go running (if you enjoy exercise), do meditation (if you enjoy some peace and quiet). What I am trying to say is that stay strong and stay focus. Do not listen to any sad music or songs that may make you feel worse.

    Take care.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Victor – Thank you, I was in similar situation as you. On a Friday afternoon I got a call from mom and she was crying so bad that I can’t understand what she was trying to tell me. As soon as I heard the name, I had my buddy looking for plane tickets right away.

      Reply
  4. Dallas

    Sorry to hear about your loss.
    I would have to agree with what Jeffrey, Nye, and Victor mentioned. Nothing we can do about the past. Spend more time with family and friends is the way to go. Also give yourself a personal time as well.

    Reply
  5. Cambree

    Hi Seeharhed,
    Sorry to hear about your loss. My condolence to you and your family.

    Keep your loved one’s memories alive by remembering all the good times you’ve shared. Good memories make dark days better. Take care. 🙂

    Reply
  6. barbara

    My 29 year old Daughter just Died yesterday,she was found in her bed, Her death was ruled accidental and caused by a seizure…I have all this guilt and pain for not being with her..That she died alone..I feel like i can’t breathe without pain and sorrow.She was my first born..

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Hello Barbara, I am so sorry to hear about your loss. It is not easy for me and I still miss that person. I often think about that person. So, hang in there and thanks for stopping by.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

