Typical Small Town In France

La Ferte-sous-Jouarre is a typical small town situated in the valley surrounded by river and hills.  Early on Sunday morning, my uncle and I decide to stroll down to town for some coffee and croissant.  If you ask any Lao/French about the bread/croissant and coffee, they all said it is the best in the world.  Of course, I had croissants from many different countries and I do have my all time favorite.

As we approach the town, the first thing came to mind was…  This town looks pretty dead, hardly anyone are out walking.  Perhaps, it is still some what early on Sunday morning.  As my uncle leading me through small streets, people are staring at us and wondering if we are lost.  Maybe they haven’t seen too many Asian people roaming through town and one carrying big camera shooting it away.

My uncle and I took a break at this tiny cafe to try some fresh croissant and cappuccino.  I didn’t find the croissant to be anything extraordinary like all the Lao/French folk claims.

a typical street of La Ferte-sous-Jouarre.. weather is not an ideal for taking photo

roads are small... so does all the cars too

town center.. farmer's market day

most shops are closed... august is like a vacation month for the french..

the whole time we walked around this town.. i saw about 3 cars on the road

the other side of the bridge.. so quite

people came out to buy some bread.. there are two bakeries in town, only this one is open that month..

taking a break... about to enjoy my cappuccino with fresh croissant

those windows and shutters on this building reminds me of Luangprabang, Laos.

I need to learn some french before going back visiting my cousins.  Stay tune for more blogs about my trip to France.

15 thoughts on “Typical Small Town In France

  1. Nye

    It has that old world charm, although it reminds me so much of Luang Prabang or Vientiane. I bet their coffee is very expensive.

    Did you find yourself any French girlfriend? oui 🙂

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Nye – I don’t know how much my uncle paid for our coffee. Since I didn’t have any of the Euro currency on me, it was his treat.

      LOL@your question. Do I need to answer it? Can I say.. No comment?? 🙂

      Reply
  2. Victor

    Beautiful and quaint. Glad to hear that you are enjoying your time.

    I heard the locals are not that accommodating if you speak English. Is it true?

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Victor – I made the best out of my time there. Yes, it is so true if you don’t speaks french especially in the small towns. The owner of the fruit stand was not too happy when he saw me taking pictures of his fruits. He said few words in french and gave me the dirty looks. Oh well…

      Reply
      1. Cambree

        I heard the same thing too!

        Fruit vendors are usually friendly since they want to sell stuff to you. But I wouldn’t buy anything from him.

    1. seeharhed Post author

      If you’re into slow pace, this is a town for you. I’ve tried saying the word croissants in french so many times, all my cousins just laughed at me. One of my cousin’s favorite line is….”you american people can’t pronounce anything right”. hahahhaha

      Reply

Leave a Reply

