Sunday Night Football and BBQ

Last night my beloved San Francisco 49ers (0-4) hosted the Philadelphia Eagles (2-2) at the Candlestick Park.    It is been a tough year so far for the 49ers, the team that most people picked to be the winner of NFC West this year.  Obviously things didn’t turn out the way it suppose to for the SF 49ers.  I can go on and on about the weakness of the team, it is so frustrating to be the fan.  Here goes another miserable season again.

Well, let’s shift the focus other topic.  I decided to have a big cookout and invites families and cousins to the dinner.  I went all out this time, I bought about 14 lbs of baby-back ribs and spareribs.  Also picked up some chicken thighs too.  This will be my 3rd time cooking the baby-back ribs and I think I got it down now.

the baby-back ribs are on the left side and spareribs on the right.. above are some chickens.

little close up.. i still have about 4 more racks of ribs waiting for their turns at the grill

I got all these ribs from Costco.  Before applying the dry rubs to the ribs, I trim off some of the extra fat from the ribs.  Most people probably will not even bother with that.  After giving it a good rub down with some dry rubs, I simply sealed it and throw it back in the fridge for over night.  Four hours prior to the dinner, I preheat my oven to 300F and wrap each individual piece with aluminum foil.  By wrapping it with aluminum foil allows all the moisture to stays in while cooking.  Some people added marinate sauce, wine, apple juice or chicken broth into the wrapped ribs.  This will enhance the flavor of the ribs during the cooking process.  Since I have about 8 racks of ribs to cook, I used orange juice and Kona beer for my sauces.

i also heated up some bake bean i picked up from Costco... this stuff is so good 🙂

another item i picked up from Costco is this Hawaiian Sweet Rolls.. this thing is so good and a must have item..

Now, getting back to the game.  OMG!!!  As a fan, I am sick and tired of seeing Alex Smith giving a game away.  The turn overs killed our chance to be (1-4), but instead we are now the pathetic (0-5) team and laughing stock of the NFL.

Oh well, the Sunday Night Football game was terrible but the foods and company was awesome.  It was nice to see my families and cousins enjoyed the ribs.

10 thoughts on “Sunday Night Football and BBQ

  1. Jeffrey

    Football and home cooking — two of the things I miss a lot here in Korea. Haven’t seen an NFL game and my beloved Bears in sometime now.

    The food looks so good, though.

    Sorry about the 49ers.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Jeffrey – I bet!!! Something about watching football here in the U.S. Few years ago I was in Laos during the month of November and I was up at 3am to watch the live game on ESPN. It is not the same at all.

      Your beloved Chicago Bears is doing pretty good this year. They are leading the NFC North with 4-1 and Matt Forte decided to run for his life this year. I had him on my fantasy football last year and he didn’t do jack for me, I ending up trading him for Cedric Benson.

      Yes, the foods was awesome 🙂

      Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Nye – Thanks!!! looks good and also taste good too :-). My mom did bring some sticky rice but no tum mark hoong this time. I hate to admit this, but I still don’t have the pot and bamboo basket to cook the sticky rice.

      I just don’t eat enough sticky rice to be cooking it all the time. When I have a craving for sticky rice, I just head to mom’s house.

      Reply
  2. Dallas

    I thought I am the only one frustrated with their football team. The Cowboys are not doing too good either.

    Oh, those ribs look so good.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Even a die-hard fan struggles to cheer for the 0-5 team. Will see what happen after this coming weekend, if we do not win the next game against the Raiders something needs to be change.

      The Cowboys aren’t doing so well either with 1-3, last place in NFC East. With all those talents, seems like they always find a way to loose the games.

      Reply
  3. Victor

    Oh, American spareribs! I do miss them. They are usually so huge and meaty! Brings back some old memories of my time in the State.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Victor – You need to come and visit the U.S. Yes, as you can see in the picture, the spareribs are so huge and very meaty.

      Like they said… everything are so huge in U.S. and that includes the people too. :-). We are in the land of supersize. LOL

      Reply
  4. Cambree

    14 lbs of baby-back ribs and spareribs is lots of food! The bake bean does look good too. I’m sure your friends and family appreciated the cook-out. 🙂

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Cambree – Yes!!! 14 lbs of meats is a lot. I had left over for few days worth of meals. I rather have more foods than not enough to go around. All my friends and family loves the babyback ribs.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

