Magnitude 4.6 Earthquake Hits Laos

I first heard of the news through few friends in Laos via Facebook.  At first, I thought they were joking or they just had way too much to drink.  Fortunately, the epicenter of this 4.6 magnitude earthquake is far from populated cities.  There are no reports of after shocks at this time.

Lately, there are so many nature disasters happening around the world.  Flooding in Australia, big earthquake in NZ and what’s next?

http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/recenteqsww/Quakes/us2011hsbm.php#details

 

10 thoughts on “Magnitude 4.6 Earthquake Hits Laos

  1. Nye

    I’m glad it was not serious in Laos. The one in NZ is sad to watch. I expect the hurricane season to be devastating this year also. 😦

    Reply
  2. seeharhed Post author

    Nye, the situation could be worse in Laos if the epicenter is in Vientiane. I’m pretty sure most of those buildings in the capital city are not seismic code. This is a second biggest earthquake within the past 40 or 50 years. Back in 2007, Laos was hit with 6.3 quake.

    Reply
  3. Jeffrey

    Aon, Jeremy Aaron and I were in Vientiane at the time and didn’t feel a thing. I was surprised when I heard about the news on Thai TV that day. It was only until later, when I checked the link when I saw where the epicenter was located.

    BTW, Aon and the boys are fine. I am back in Korea now and Aon and Jeremy Aaron are coming here next Saturday.

    Look for lots of updates about family and Laos soon. Now, have to get ready for the spring semester and also start trying to sell more copies of my novels.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Most people in Laos goes to bed really early and didn’t know what happened. I called my cousins and aunt the following morning to ask if they felt that earthquake. All of them didn’t realized that earthquake has strike, my cousin thought it was my uncle whom pass away came around the kitchen and knock things down. hahahahha

      Wow!!! your wife and boy will be visiting you… That’s awesome!!! I can almost see Jeremy eyes will be wide open the whole trip. He will remember that trip forever.

      Reply
  4. Cambree

    There are some things I can’t imagine happening in Laos and earthquake is among this list. But of course anything is possible with all the craziness in the world these days.

    I’m glad to hear it was minor. I remember the last major earthquake I felt was 1994 in Northridge (Southern Cal). It happened in the middle of the night too and the whole place was shaking. Dishes in the kitchen came falling down. I ended up hiding underneath the desk until it was over. So at least I can say I survived that earthquake! 🙂

    Reply
  5. seeharhed Post author

    Cambree – I remembered that Northridge earthquake because one of my friend was living there at that time. The earthquake devastated Cal State Northridge community and forever changed so many lives.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

