Wat Buddhanusorn, Fremont CA

This past weekend I had a chance to attend my cousin’s wedding ceremony at Thai Temple (Wat Buddhanusorn) in Fremont, CA.  I’ve been to so many laotian weddings, but this is my first time attending wedding ceremony at the temple.  It is a beautiful temple, this is my first time visiting this particular temple as well.

The Main building of this temple and where the wedding ceremony was held at...

A view from Southeast corner of the building.

East side of the building.

West side of the building

These group of buddha statues on the west side of building.

Northeast corner of property

Looks like this temple is always busy during the weekends.  I see people comes and goes to purchase foods from different vendors.  I think all the sells are going toward the temple funds, but I’m not positive.  My relatives told me that the monks already performed two wedding ceremonies prior to my cousin.  Also, it is the last weekend for the Thai citizen to votes before sending the ballots back to Thailand.  I was tempting of take the picture of a group who was casting their votes.

7 thoughts on “Wat Buddhanusorn, Fremont CA

  1. Nye

    It’s a beautiful temple. I wish we have a temple like this here. VA temple is the prettiest Wat that I’ve visited in the US.

    I’ve never heard of a wedding at Wat before, I guess they must have adopted the American Church wedding to a Buddhist Temple wedding. What did they do about the wedding party?

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      It was the first for me too. Also most of the relatives I talked to is their first wedding ceremony at the temple as well.

      Well, the ceremony must end before 11:30am so the monks can have their meals before noon. As you know, the monks are not allow to have a meal past afternoon.

      For the wedding party, it was held at a Lao Restaurant near by. It is not your typical lao wedding, the number of guests are limited. There is not partying til mid-night or dancing in this case.

      Reply
  2. Cambree

    I’ve been wanting to visit this temple but never got to it. So this might just be the time to do it. Thanks for the post.

    I also never heard of weddings at Buddhist temple, but I’ve heard of getting blessed by the monks. It’s nice for couples to hear the elder monks give them blessings for a happy & healthy future. 🙂

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Cambree, you are not too far away and I am surprise that you never visit this temple. The best time to visit the temple is probably during weekend, so you can blend in with all the crowds:-).

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Cambree Notes » Blog Archive » Wat Buddhanusorn in Fremont, Ca

Leave a Reply

