Provins, France “A Medieval Fair Town”

A year went by so quick.  Earlier in August I went back to France for my uncle 1 year anniversary of his passing.  During last year visits, I didn’t get to see much of France other than the temple and funeral home.  So, the goal of this year visit is to see as much France as I can in 2 weeks.  The first place my cousin took me to is this medieval town “Provins”, about an hour out of Paris.  Most of the monuments in this town were built back in the 12th and 13th centuries.  This town became part of UNESCO’s World Heritage List back on December of 2001.

The Saint-Jean's gate..

The old wall

the town's square..

Stand tall is Caesar's Tower. It was used as a watch tower and prison.

Up close of Caesar's Tower.. I had a chance to tour the inside of this prison

A view of town's square from top of Caesar's tower.

View from Caesar's tower to the Saint-Quiriace Church.

Another view of the church

View of a town..

Inside of the Saint-Quiriace Church, the service was in process.

Typical streets of Provins

 

Center of town..

By the end of the day, I was so tired of walking.  This tiny little town is pretty hilly.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Provins, France “A Medieval Fair Town”

  1. Cambree

    Hope you had comfortable walking shoes. 🙂 There’s lots of history at this place with all the castle and cathedral. I wonder if it gets really spooky at night, especially at that old prison. JK.

    Reply
  2. seeharhed Post author

    Yes, I wore out my Nike running shoes:-). You got that right about so much history. Everything looks old and plenty of stories behind it. We tour that Caesar’s Tower and talking about spooky.place. The crawl space to top of tower was so tiny and I didn’t know if I was going to make it out of there. Hundreds of prisoner probably died there…

    Reply
  3. Nye

    I kind of thought it was France that you visited, Lee really wants to visit and has been saving up with her shores money. 🙂

    Were you allowed to take picture inside the prison? I think even after the prisoners are long gone, the impression of their existence is still there. I bet if you listened carefully you could still hear sounds, that would be spooky. 🙂

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Your guess was correct:-). I think Lee will really enjoy herself there. The only thing I didn’t like was the current exchanges rate. Everything there are pretty expensive and almost double the prices what we pays here in U.S.
      Yes, they do allowed people to take pictures inside the prison but I didn’t take any. It was hot inside and some what dark. I tried not to touch anything inside as much as I can. Everything looks like it was left there since 150 years ago.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

