Asian vs. American Persimmon

It is that time of the year for all persimmon lovers out there. Persimmon is not for everyone, either you like it or you don’t. I prefer asian persimmon over the american one because of its texture. Couple of weekends ago, I stop to check on my folks and their asian persimmons are almost ready to be pick. It is just the way I like it, not too ripe and still somewhat crunchy.

As far as american persimmon, I’ve tried it once and didn’t like it at all. American persimmon needs to be super ripe before you can even try eating it. Also, so much fiber comparing to asian one.

This is my dad asian persimmon tree and the only tree he have. Tiny little tree produces so much fruits.

I stop by 3 or 4 days ago, all those persimmons are long gone. My parents love to snack on it.

Just right!!! It is ready to be pick

These are american persimmons that belong to my dad next door neighbor. Notices the size and shape?

The american persimmon takes awhile to get really ripe. Most people makes cookies out of persimmon.

So, which persimmon do you normally eat?

8 thoughts on “Asian vs. American Persimmon

  1. Dallas

    Hey there, See!

    I don’t think I ever had a persimmon before Asian nor American. Although I’ve seen this fruit at the Asian grocery store all the time but I was never brave enough to try it.
    Perhaps next time you cut one open and take a picture of the inside.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Hey Dallas,
      Wow! I’m surprise that you never try it before. It is very popular among the Asian folks.
      I’ll try to cut one up soon and post the picture here. Stay tune.

      Reply
  2. Nye

    I didn’t have any luck growing the persimmon tree, it died after 2 years. I like the Asian persimmons also, and always look forward to buying them at the temple, Wat Greensboro have over 200 persimmons tree, so you could imagine the fruits. It’s like I’m in persimmon heaven. 🙂

    Dallas should try, even my dog Max loves it.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Nye, I’m sorry to hear about your dead tree. I wonder why? Hickory and Greensboro weather is about the same. Since it is growing well at the temple.

      Reply
  3. Cambree

    Good thing the tree is self-pollinating as your dad’s one tree is so plentiful!

    I love persimmons and mostly any fruits. The Asian persimmon you mention is called “Fuyu” and the American one probably “Hachiya”. Fuyu is most popular because it taste better.

    Hachiya has to be really ripe to eat, otherwise it’s very astringent and makes your mouth pucker. When ripe I scoop them out with a small spoon and eat it like ice cream. Yummy!

    Btw, we have an elderly Japanese neighbor that used to give us baked persimmon bread for Christmas. So there’s another way to use those ripe persimmons.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed

      My folks really love persimmons and they always have a basket full during the season. Thanks for pointing out the names. I got a called from my buddy few days ago that his persimmons are ready to be pick.

      My sister-in-law makes a killer persimmon cookies.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

