Bane Lard Kuay, Vientiane

Most of my friends from Vientiane have no idea where Bane Lard Kuay located or some never heard of it at all.  It is about 18 Km Northeast of town center.  This is where my cousin and his wife relocated to – they both retired early and decided they had enough of U.S.  Sold the house and most of their belongings to start a new life in Laos about 3 years ago.  They are both fortunate to inherited some nice chunk of land along Nam Ngeum River.  But, they did a lot of clearing the woods and earth moving before the house can be built.

Personally, I don’t think I can live out there.  It is kind of far from the city and it is middle of no where.  Their neighbors are probably 1/2 miles away.  The back side of property sits along Ngam Ngeume River, its the most peaceful view to ponder about life.

It is still early for dokchampa season. This picture was taken back in middle of February. It is probably full bloom right now cause it is close to Lao New Year. This champa tree is right on the edge of river bank.

up close..

It is not fully ripe yet.. I didn't get to taste it

Mark Kang..

They raises livestock on other side of property...I lost counts of how many type of animals are in this barn.

This dog likes to watch the fishermen from edge of river bank.

Life can't get any better than this...

 

9 thoughts on “Bane Lard Kuay, Vientiane

  1. Nye

    I think I would like it but would miss my family in the US. I’m glad to hear about your friends success, most Lao in our area went back and ended up coming back to nothing after their monies ran out.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Nye, I think I would miss my families back in the U.S. as well. I probably can’t live there full time like my cousin and his wife. Splitting 6 months in Laos and 6 months in U.S. sounds much better to me.

      Most Lao/American went back with the notion to run some type of business. I would say almost all of them left Laos without any $$. It is fine if you are going back to enjoy that slow pace of life.

      Reply
      1. Nye

        seeharhed, the sad part is that some came back to nothing also, some couldn’t even come back becuse their paper expired and not a very smart planning and move on their part.

  2. Victor

    Ahhh…nature. No traffic, no siren. They survive the first 3 years. They must be settled and loving it. Suits retirees if don’t have to travel to get to work. Maybe give them another 3 years. If they survive that, they will certainly live for another 5! I am speaking from experience of course, but in a western world. 6-7 years in the rural countryside was long enough. Very happy to be back in a metropolitan city of Melbourne.

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      You are right Victor, will see if they last another 3 more years. I think the wife wants to spend some time in the U.S., since their daughter just gave birth recently.

      Reply

Leave a comment