Xieng Khouang, Laos

I finally made it to Xieng Khouang after all these years I visited Laos.  I am so glad I included Xieng Khouang as one of my destination on this trip.  We decided to fly up Xieng Khouang instead of driving, I’ll take my chance on air versus those windy mountain roads.  Even though it seems to be a bit expensive for 45 minutes flight.  It costs us about 1.5 million kips ($180) each for round-trip tickets.  The price was little high due to the changes departure location – we flew back to Vientiane from Luangprabang instead of Xieng Khouang.

This trip would be difficult if I try to do it alone.  It is nice to have a friend that knows the streets around town and have a nice place to stay – especially when it is free of charge :-).  I actually stayed at the Mulberries Farm just the edge of the town.  Check out their website http://www.mulberries.org/.

Yep!! That is it folks... That is Xieng Khouang Airport.

The Melberries Farm

shop

Workers clearing the weeds..

Hours of labor before finish products

Love the foggy morning.. That is the farm house I stay during my visit.

pine trees

The view from the top floor of farm house.. Across all those rolling hills is the Airport... So peaceful and quite there... awesome place to relax and ponder about life.

We sat out there chit chat til the darkness falls... I miss that town... I miss that one person also 🙂

Stay tune for more pictures from Plain of Jars.

10 thoughts on “Xieng Khouang, Laos

  1. Nye

    I’m so jealous, I’ve been wanting to visit there and even wrote in my book as one of the places to visit. I wanted to see how they spin silk, I think i would be happy living at that farm. The last image is awesome, nice captured of the night scape.

    I guess you are still living in Lao time, I wonder if that one person also misses you. 🙂

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Nye, don’t be jealous… Once Lee is out to college, I’m sure you and Bo will have plenty of time to travel the world. I really like it up there in Xieng Khouang, I didn’t get to see everything on my 5 days stay. The farm do give daily tour to tourists and I got a personal tour of the whole farm :-). I think you will like it there, you can see the whole processes of producing silk.

      Yea.. I like that last picture a lot.. I took a long exposure.. probably around 20 seconds on manual mode.

      hhmmmm.. I’m back to the U.S. time for few weeks now:-). But, my heart is still remain in Laos. I think that one person miss me too but just not expressing it :-)..

      Reply
  2. CN

    The Mulberries Farm has silk, fruit, and tea? At least that’s what I think the sign reads. What a great concept to have all that from a tree.

    I like the photo with the fog and pine trees. I didn’t know Laos had pine trees.

    Btw, when it comes to matters of the heart, don’t they always say “absence makes the heart grow fonder?” Hopefully that is the case. 😉

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Yes! the Mulberries Farm produce all those products such as silk, tea, and fruit. The mulberry leaves can feeds all the silk worms and also makes great tea. Plus, those mulberry trees do produce the fruits and can be turning into wine. I believe this particular farm is one of the few organic silk farms in Laos.

      There are a lot of pine trees up in Northern part of Laos. I’ll try to show some of bigger pine trees on the upcoming blogs.

      Hhhhmmmm… Not sure if it is true about the heart growing fonder.. But, it sure has its moments..

      Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      It is cool in the morning, I actually have to wear a sweat shirt. Is the place you can do some soul searching and contacts from outside world.

      Reply
  3. tdblue

    The pictures are absolutely beautiful, in particular, the picture of the pine trees. Thank you for sharing the beauty of Laos with us. 🙂

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Thank You tdblue…I’m glad you guys enjoyed it. Hopefully, one of these days you guys get to visit this awesome country. Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Kob Jai, Padaek. Walking through those forest of pine trees early in the morning was amazing. First time in Laos, I actually had to pulled out my sweater.

      Reply

Leave a comment