Lunch At The Farm

Most of my friends back in Laos are city folks.  During the weekends they all try to stay away from the city as much as possible.  One of the weekend when I was there, we all decided to have lunch at my buddy’s farm.  Most of the foods were bought in the city and some are being cook at the farm by a friend’s personal caddy.  Yes! Caddy :-).  He golf so much that he have a personal caddy that mainly works for him.  At first I was like, where you find these to people to come and grilled the fishes for us.

It was a nice relaxing day at the farm and the views are awesome.

my buddy's farm along the Mekong River.. he just them build this hut few months earlier

what a view.. the hut is just few steps away from the edge of river bank. the right side across the river is Thailand

this hut is pretty good size.. we had about 18 people that day.. that is one big mango tree next to the hut

my buddy bought this farm about 3 years ago and he can get triple of what he paid for.. as you can see the erosion control works has been done the river bank..

this guy papaya salas was super hot.. i taste it once and i was done..

chow down time.. these guys are eating "punh pa" grilled fish. it is too much works for me, i stick with bbq chicken

this is what happen after too much foods and beerlao.

the caddy is trying to pick some mangoes for us..

i found myself some tamarind.. it was so good

7 thoughts on “Lunch At The Farm

    1. seeharhed Post author

      Jeffrey – Thanks!! Something about the foods in Laos, I can’t get enough of it. This last trip I gained about 5 lbs in 5 weeks and all those sweats didn’t help either:-).

      Reply
  1. Nye

    This is a perfect spot to build a small little house, love the view. I would rather live in a country than the city. I wonder what you friend do for a living to be this prosper, a personal Caddy? 🙂

    Reply
    1. seeharhed Post author

      Nye – I totally agree that it is perfect spot to build small house over the MeKong River. Few of our friends been wanting to buy some of his land but he wants to hold on to it. But, he is willing to let anyone of us to build a house on his land and live there if we choose to.

      Actually my friend who own this property doesn’t play golf at all. He runs his own business in buying and selling homes, properties, and used cars. I guess a good title for this guy, he is a “flipper”. While I was there, I got to see one of his flipping project. He bought a old small condo and in process of gutting it. The guy is doing pretty well for himself.

      As for that personal caddy, I just met him for first time during this trip. He is a friend of my friend, he moved back to live in Laos 3 years ago from Australia. From what I heard he is a manager at one of the construction company and he spend half of the day at golf courses. He is living the life for sure.

      Reply
      1. Nye

        seeharhed, I think the grass looks greener on the other side. We just have to look at what we have and learn to appreciate that. Life is a challenge no matter where you are. 🙂

    2. Cambree

      I agree with Nye. A little house overlooking the Mekong would be nice. The sunset must be beautiful there. 🙂

      Btw, love the photos of the tamarinds. But what about the mangoes? Did the guy pick some good ones for you guys with the long stick he’s using?

      Reply
      1. seeharhed Post author

        Cambree – The sunset is stunning there at the farm. It is such a calm scenery, which is hard to find here in the U.S.. You’ll see few fishermen collecting their catches before dusk.

        Oh yea, he got us 3 mangoes and few that was out of his reach. It was so sweet, sorry I forgot to take the picture of it.

Leave a comment