Daily Archives: October 28, 2009

Boun ThatLuang

Update:

Boun ThatLuang of 2009 had officially ended today with traditional of “tuk bard” and “tee khee”.  I found photos from flickr.com posted by ThatLuang Festival 2009, Vientiane, Laos.  I really miss Laos, when I see all these pictures.

tuk bard

tuk bard1

tuk bard2

hair tee khee

tee khee

As a kid growing up in Vientiane, Laos, I’ve always look forward to Boun ThatLuang each year.  The things I remember from this festival are free concerts, open air movies, ping gai(lao style chicken bbq),  and bung kaow larm(rice in bamboo).  Our house was always packed with relatives from far away villages.  Boun ThatLuang is one of the most important festival in calendar years that many folks did not wants to miss.  It helps that our house is so close to ThatLuang, within walking distance for our visiting relatives.  I just google earth it, our house to ThatLaung is approximately 0.3 miles (600 yards or 0.5 km).

This year Boun ThatLuang just start it, will runs from Oct. 28th to Nov. 2nd.  I wish I was there right now:-).  Although, things are different these days.  It is more like a big flea markets, so many chinese/vietnamese venders trying to sell their products.